Makin’ Bacon (In the Oven)

What can we say about bacon that hasn’t been said before? Nothing. (see Jim Gaffigan video at the end of this post)

I had heard once or twice before that making bacon in the oven was the best way but never tried it before and decided to remedy the situation.

It was super simple, delicious and easy to clean up. One of the nicest things about it is it’s pretty much hands off—once it’s in the oven you just wait 20 minutes and it’s done—freeing you to focus on whatever other food you’re preparing that will soon be improved with the addition of bacon.

All our pigs lined up in a row.

20 minutes later.

Drainin' the bacon grease.

MAKIN’ BACON (IN THE OVEN)
1. Pre-heat your oven to 400˚ F.

2.  Take a baking sheet and line it with foil (for easy clean-up).

3. Place an oven-safe cooling rack on top of the foil and lay your bacon on it without overlapping. Add any seasoning you’d like.

4. Bake your bacon in the oven for 15–20 minutes. Make sure to keep an eye on it towards the end because things can change fast. Also, keep in mind that it will continue to cook a little after it is removed from the oven.

5. Remove the bacon from the oven and place it on paper towels to pull away some of the grease.

Kendall’s Notes:
– This bacon was cooked exactly to my liking—the perfect amount of crispiness and full of flavor.

– Baking in the oven allows the bacon to cook evenly. I’ve been frustrated in the past with uneven cooking on the stovetop so this is a big plus.

– I added a little cracked pepper to the bacon before putting it in the oven. I’ve seen others suggest brown sugar, maple syrup—pretty much anything you can think of could go on there before baking. There’s nothing wrong with naked bacon either.

– I bet you could save that bacon grease that collects under the bacon and make all kinds of tasty stuff with it if you felt like it.

– Maybe next time we’ll try making our own bacon from a hunk of pork belly…

Mandy’s Notes:
– In hindsight, the only thing I would MAYBE change is writing “Bakin’ Bacon” on the chalkboard instead.

– Yep. This was delicious.

www.jimgaffigan.com

-posted by Kendall
10 responses to “Makin’ Bacon (In the Oven)

  1. I love this blog. I can finally stop wasting my time with Young House Love. Who needs DIY blogs? No one. But we all need FoOd. Before you know it you will have sponsors sending you their ingredients, cookware, and recipes to debut.

    If you ever need a food critic, count me in.

    • But this a DIY blog– for food! Thanks, Ash. I can only hope that somday someone will pay us to cook, eat and write. Let us know if you cook up something yummy.

  2. Hello. I am a fan of baked bacon. There is a restaurant upstate NY called Chaiwalla. She has the BEST open faced BMT sandwich in the summer. That is for bacon, mayo (sorry Kendall) and tomato. I asked her why her bacon was so good. She said she comes in the morning at 6 and prebakes the bacon at 350 for a while. Then when it is time to make the sandwich later in the day, she throws the needed bacon back in the oven to sort of re bake it for about 5 minutes. She said it is the twice baking that makes it so good. You could experiment with that. The sandwich is toasted bread, with beefsteak tomatoes and bacon with a dollop of herbed mayo on top. The mayo is green and you can see the bits of herbs. No idea what ones. The cafe is so odd. She home schools her child. When she wants to take him to Mongolia or something on a tea buying trip she closes down her cafe for a few months. You never have any idea if she will be open until you drive by.

    • What kind of bread is the sandwich made with?

      • Oh gee. I think some kind of sour dough maybe. Something large and oval. I will have to ask Paul if he remembers. But it is one of those meals you remember. It is open faced. And I think she toasts it lightly first. I also think it is actually called the BMW now that I think about it. For Bacon, Mayo and Watercress. The herbed mayo on top is a huge part of the dish. I usually ask for the mayo on the side, because I am a scant mayo person. I like it, but just a light smear as they say in NY deli terms. Next time I go there, I will try to sneak a photo. If she isn’t in Mongolia.

  3. Hey Mandy!
    I just wanted to say how much I’m liking the blog!
    ❤ Jee

  4. Pingback: Chicago Bacon Takedown | The Green Chalkboard

  5. Pingback: Bacon Caramel “Apples” | The Green Chalkboard

  6. I would hope that foil could be washed and recycled?

Leave a Reply

